Book Haul

A few weeks ago, I placed an order with Indigo/Chapters and they arrived this week.  They are:

Book Haul Picture

The Jewel of St. Petersburg by Kate Furnivall – set in Russia, this novel’s main character, Valentina, is being pushed into a loveless marriage by her parents.  She meets a Danish engineer for whom she develops feelings.  While all of this is happening, Russia is in crisis with a revolution developing.

The Golden Tulip by Rosalind Laker – set in Amsterdam, Francesca begins an apprenticeship with artist Johannes Vermeer, however, in return, her father demands that she stops seeing Pieter van Doorne, a tulip merchant.  This book is set during a period of Dutch history with respect to “tulip mania” and I am really interested in learning more about this.  I am excited to read this book as I am taking a river cruise later this year and will be staying a few days in Amsterdam.

A Christmas Carol and Other Christmas Writings by Charles Dickens – on Book Tube this last Christmas season, I saw a lot of videos with people talking about their favorite Christmas story and I realized that I did not have one.  Like most people, I am very familiar with the story of A Christmas Carol, but have never read it so now that I have it, it will be on my TBR list for December.

Lone Star by Paullina Simons – I received this book from Book Depository.  I loved Paullina Simon’s Bronze Horseman which I read quite a number of years ago.  Chloe, an American young adult, travels through Europe with friends before attending college.  Along the way, Chloe meets Johnny.  She is attracted to him and her boyfriend takes an instant dislike towards him.  All the while, war is brewing in Eastern Europe.

What’s Left Behind by Gail Bowen – Gail Bowen’s books are an automatic buy for me.  This is her newest release which technically doesn’t have a release date until March 1st, however, I had preordered it.  This is book 16 in the Joanne Kilbourn mystery series set in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada.  I love these books, not only because I live in Regina and enjoy all the references to familiar landmarks, but the political plots are always so interesting.  I will be diving into this book immediately!

Leave a Reply

